ReCAP: April 2012

Southern Comfort Wins GLAAD Award:

The CAP21 Theatre Company's production of Southern Comfort, (by Dan Collins & Julianne Wick Davis, Directed by Thomas Caruso) won the GLAAD Award for Outstanding New York Theatre: Off-Off Broadway.

The production of Southern Comfort was also selected for The Advocate's Best New York Theater: Top 10 List 2011 and received serious critical acclaim, including glowing reviews from The New York Times, Time Out New York, The New York Post, and The Advocate.  Both The New York Times and Time Out New York listed it as the 'Critic's Pick' and 'Best Bet'.  CAP21 is ecstatic!


CAP21 Alumni Night for Marrying George Clooney:

[From left to right: (standing) Emily Blake Anderson, Becca Doyle, Ryan Murray, Zoey Rutherford. Frank Ventura, Nick Cianfrogna, Kristen Gehling, Nicole Martone, Sean Zia, Britain Gebhardt, Michon Peacock, Jeanette Minson, James Yates, (kneeling) Aimee Francis, Cristine Dhimos]

Thanks to all the alums who came out the the Alumni Night for Marrying George Clooney: Confessions from a Midlife Crisis.

Stay tuned for the next CAP21 Alumni Event!


Alumni Feature:

We caught up with CAP21 Alums Christopher Shin, Chuck Rea, Dennis Moench and Geoffrey Goldberg, all of whom are currently performing in the Broadway production of Mary Poppins. Check it out....


Roundtable Reading of Maiden Voyage:

[Left to right: (back row) Ethan Angelica (CAP21 Alum), Noah DeBiase (CAP21 Alum), Jenn Colella, Matty Stuart (CAP21 Alum), Thomas Cannizzaro, Danny Larsen, Michelle Elliott, Eliza Ventura, James Yates; (front row) Becca Doyle, Tim McGeever, Frank Ventura, Collin Leydon, Molly Hager.]

CAP21 kicked off its 2012-2013 Writers Residency for composer/lyricist Danny Larsen and Lyricist/Bookwriter Michelle Elliott  this March by holding the first Roundtable Reading of their new musical, Maiden VoyageMaiden Voyage, based on the lives of female pirates Mary Read and Anne Bonney, will be participating in CAP21 New Works Development Program through spring 2013.





CAP21 is hosting the 2nd Annual Gershwin Awards to celebrate outstanding achievement in musical theatre performance!

The Gershwin Awards
is the New York City Chapter of the National High School Musical Theater Awards, an annual national celebration of outstanding achievement in musical theatre performance by high school students.

On May 19th high school students from all over the New York City Metropolitan Area will gather at CAP21 to participate in a series of group workshops, an interview, and a performance audition. Artistic Director Eliza Ventura will be a judge for the competition.

Winners will receive a scholarship to CAP21's Pre-College Musical Theatre Training Program and Musical Theatre College Audition Prep Program.

The Gershwin Awards is presented by the Broadway Education Alliance in partnership with Camp Broadway LLC and CAP21: America's Musical Theatre Conservatory and Theatre Company.

For more information about The Gershwin Awards and how to nominate a student  click here.


Special Alumni Rental Rates:

The 5th floor is up and running!

And we now have 9 additional, state of the art studio spaces available for rent, with special rates for alumni, AEA, SAG, & AFTRA Members.

For more information contact, Matt Groff at 212.807-0202 ext. 11 or email

ALUMS ON FILM/TV:  Bradford Anderson (General Hospital), Kristen Bell (Gossip Girl, Heroes, House of Lies), Justine Cotsonas (As the World Turns), Melissa Fumero (Gossip Girl), Ann Hu (Still Standing), Jamie Lee Kirchner (Mercy), Liza Lapira (Crazy, Stupid Love, Dexter), Karla Mosley (Guiding Light), Ryan Murray (Guiding Light), Matthew Morrison (Glee), Ali Stroker (Sesame Street), Jason Tam (One Life To Live).

ALUMS ON BROADWAY: Cara Cooper (Jersey Boys), Holly Davis (Sister Act),  J. Austin Eyer (How To Succeed...), Jared Gertner (Book of Morman), Geoffrey Goldberg (Mary Poppins), Liana Hunt (Mamma Mia), Adam Jacobs (The Lion King), Nikki M. James (Book of Mormon), Tony Mansker (Mary Poppins), Cristin Milioti (Once), Dennis Moench (Mary Poppins), Jacob Pinion (Mamma Mia), Chuck Rea (Mary Poppins), Stephanie Rothenberg (How to Succeed...), Christopher Shin (Mary Poppins), Nick Spangler (The Book of Mormon).

ALUMS ON TOUR:   Hannah Chin (Mary Poppins), Emily Cramer (SHREK), Elizabeth Early (Mary Poppins), Brandon Espinosa (Bring It On),  Eric Giancola (Mary Poppins), Liana Hunt (Mamma Mia),  Jared Joseph (Dreamgirls), Lisa Kassay (Mary Poppins), Nicole Laurenzi (Mamma Mia), Marissa Lupp (Wicked), Alli Mauzey (Wicked), Matthew Myers (Jesus Christ Superstar), Dan Pacheco (Wicked), David Nathan Perlow (Wicked), Chuck Rea (Mary Poppins), Ryann Redmond (Bring It On),  Pearl Sun (Next to Normal).